Meet Our Team


Prof Albert Van Dijk


+61 2 612 52197
Frank Fenner Building (141)


Albert Van Dijk received his undergraduate, Master’s degree (1996) and PhD (2002) in Environmental Sciences from VU University Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

He was with CSIRO Land and Water from 2003 to 2012, where he won awards for his leadership role in the Murray-Darling Sustainable Yields project, possibly the most ambitious water resources study ever undertaken, and subsequently, for leading development of the Australian Water Resources Assessment system, a model-data integration system now operational in the Bureau of Meteorology.

Professor Van Dijk has authored more than 130 publications. His research often addresses the interaction between vegetation and the hydrological cycle and related processes, such as soil erosion, nutrient cycling, salinity, the surface energy balance, the carbon cycle, fire risk, biodiversity, ecological resilience, and crop growth.

He has a passion for practical research applications, including the observation and forecasting of natural hazards, water resources, environmental condition and agricultural production. The theory and technology involved are drawn from environmental science and management, satellite remote sensing, IT, statistics and simulation modelling.

Professor Van Dijk was inaugural chair and is currently co-chair of the Australian Energy and Water Exchange Initiative (OzEWEX).


Social media


Dr Marta Yebra

Senior Scientist

+61 2 612 54107
Frank Fenner Building (141)


Marta’s main background is in remote sensing of vegetation biophysical properties, such as fuel load and moisture content for spatial fire risk analysis, and canopy conductance for carbon sequestration and water balance studies.

From 2004-2010 she was employed at the University of Alcala, where she was involved in two large multidisciplinary projects which assessed and integrated the main fire risk factors, validated the results and analysed fire risk trends, considering potential changes in socio-economic factors as well as foreseen impacts of global climate change. During her research, she spent time at the Centre for Spatial Technologies and Remote Sensing (University of California at Davis, USA); the National Institute of Agricultural Technology (INTA, Argentina) and the School of Environmental and Life Sciences of Salford (UK).

From 2010 to 2013 Marta was a postdoctoral fellow at CSIRO Land and Water as developing innovative methods to integrate satellite and in-situ observations from micrometeorological tower sites with models to predict carbon-water coupling.

In 2017, Dr Yebra was awarded the prestigious Max Day Environmental Science Fellowship from the Australian Academy of Science.

Marta is an Associate Editor for the journal Remote Sensing of Environment

Dr Luigi Renzullo

Senior Scientist

+61 2 612 52647
Frank Fenner Building (141)


Dr Luigi Renzullo is a senior research scientist with over 14 years experience in areas such as: atmospheric correction of satellite data, hyperspectral sensing in the viticulture industry, landscape carbon and water balance modelling, and satellite rainfall and soil moisture applications for water resources assessments.

His interests are best summarised as “exploring the role that earth observations can play in land management decision support, especially as constraints on biophysical models through techniques of model-data fusion and data assimilation”.

Rowena Smith

Executive Administrator

Pablo Rozas Larraondo

Senior Engineer

Siyuan Tian

Research Fellow

Dale Hughes

Senior Engineer

Ramanan Parameswaran

Software Engineer

Affiliate Staff

Dr Peter Hairsine

Honorary Fellow

Prof. Alex Held

Honorary Professor

Prof. Arnold Dekker

Honorary Professor

Gianluca Scortechini


Research Students

Chiara Holgate

PhD student

Wentao Ye

PhD student

Simon Walker

PhD student

Jiawei Hou

PhD student

PhD Student
     Robertson Building (46)


Nadir Loonat

PhD student

PhD student
Robertson Building (46)

Tian Hu

PhD student

Li Zhao

PhD student
Sami Shah

Sami Shah

PhD student

Yizhi Li

PhD student


  • Changming Yin (University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, Chengdu, China)
  • Zhanmang Liao (University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, Chengdu, China
  • Lei Wu (Nanjing University, China)
  • Ayoob Karami (Tarbiat Modares University, Tehran, Iran)
  • Nan Xia (Nanjing University, China)
  • Sayed-Saber Sharifi (University of Urmia, Iran)